DO IT FOR YOU by Jill Hall

The best thing I ever learned was to let go of perfection and not worry about the outcome of an art project. Gone is that little voice in my head, “It’s not good enough”. Ever since then, doing art has been a joy not a struggle. When I create, I’m not concerned if anyone is going to like it or be impressed. I do it for me.

The first year I started to mosaic, everyone I cared about received a pot, but since then I’ve stopped making gifts. It was too much pressure to try and please someone else. Now when I prepare pieces for an art show I don’t think about whether they’ll sell or not. I just let the energy kick in and go with my instincts selecting colors and tessarae (mosaic shards) that appeal to me.

While writing a first draft, I don’t worry about whether it’s good or not. I just get the words on the page. Later I might type and edit it because I want the words to twirl around in my head and perhaps touch my heart. Then I’ll try and make it the best it can be.

Developing the skill of creating intuitively has taken guidance and practice. A course that immensely helped me was The Artist’s Way, A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity, based on the book by Julia Cameron. Through readings, exercises and discussions the thrill of creating just for the fun of it became a major part of my arts practice.
If you wish to be more fulfilled though art making, then I invite you to sign up and take Artist’s Way with me at Bravo School of Art. No previous arts experience is necessary. Keep in mind that if you let go, magic can happen.

For more information and to register, please visit Bravo’s website or call 619-223-0058.

12 Weeks Tuesdays, January 19 – April 13 3 – 5pm

One thought on “DO IT FOR YOU by Jill Hall

  1. I’ve taken the Artist Way course, and the experience was very liberating. It’s a commitment of time, but the outcome sets you in motion to places you didn’t expect because of old, inhibiting mind sets. If you have the desire to shed old habits and thought processes, this is for you. Jill will be a great guide.

    Andy

    Like

Leave a Reply

