Teaching my Mosaic Class

I am preparing to teach another mosaic class this weekend. In addition to teaching Mosaic at Bravo School of Art, I also teach mosaic workshops at UCSD Craft Center in La Jolla and 6-week classes at Grossmont Adult School in the East County.

Another group of eager students, wondering about the magic of broken tiles, dishes and glass. The breaking, designing, the gluing… I often hear, “I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m not very good”. Not to worry, dear students. No one gets to Carnegie Hall the first time they sit down to the piano. Give yourself a break (get it?!) and have fun! Just have fun… No grades. No pressure. Just fun.

I am packing my wheeled kit of tiles, hammers, tile nippers, paper bags, books, hand-outs, glue, mastic, cups, grout sampler, spatulas, baskets, photographs, camera, scissors, band-aids, tweezers, pencils, newspaper, markers, goggles… Mentally checking off my list to make sure I have everything with me. Do I need to go to Ikea, Home Depot, the medical supply or Michaels before class? Hmmm? I think I have everything and am ready to go. After years of teaching all over the county and having to pack in my supplies on wheels… dragging pounds of tiles, tools & grout here and there, I have a mental picture of what I need. It only takes one time showing up without a crucial item (no newspaper GULP!) to never do it again.

I love looking at the variety of projects that my students complete. Two people can have similar materials and end up with 2 completely different pieces. That’s inspiring!

Mosaic : Glass on Glass at Bravo School of Art

Thursday, March 4 & 18, 2010 from 6 – 9pm.


My basic Mosaic Class using tiles and dishes at Bravo:

Thursday, March 11 & 18, 2010 from 6 – 9pm.

Register now! Join the fun!!


Leave a Reply

